Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston, Aretha Franklin and more Inducted into R&B Hall of Fame

The official opening of the R&B Hall of Fame Museum was announced last week. They plan to honor artists, producers, and others who have contributed to the genre's success. The legendary Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston and Aretha Franklin are among the 23 inductees for the Class of 2013. Check out who else made the list after the break!

R&B Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees

The Dramatics
The Supremes
Aretha Franklin
Jackie Wilson
The Miracles
The Temptations
The Chilites
James Brown
The O'Jays
Whitney Houston
Michael Jackson
Ray Charles
Edwin Starr
Gerald Levert 
Otis Redding, Jr.
the Chambers Brothers
The Four Tops
The Dazz Band
Bootsy Collins
Sounds of Unity (S.O.U.L)
The Imperial Wonders
The Impressions
The Manhattans
Johnnie Taylor
Sly, Slick & Wicked
The Edsels
The Clovers
The Hesitations
Ruby and The Romantics
The Marvelettes
Billy Stewart

Other notable figures that will be inducted are Alan Free, Dick Clark, Don Cornelius, Donnie Simpson, and Al Sharpton. If you are unfamiliar with any of the names listed above, I would advise you to visit the R&B Hall of Fame website and educate yourself.

Although some of the artists listed above have passed on, I think that it's great that they are honoring the R&B pioneers who helped shape and influence the music that we have today. The induction ceremony will take place on May 5, 2013 in Cleveland Ohio.

See Also: Soul Train Flash Mob in Times Square!

No comments:

Post a Comment